The Hester Rupert Art Museum
Magistrate Andries Stockenström donated a piece of land and six windows for a Dutch Reformed missionary church. The corner stone was laid on 24 April 1821 and the church was finished later that year.
In 1965 Dr Anton Rupert prevented the tearing down of this building. He brought the property and restored it to its former glory. Once completed it was handed over to the Graaff-Reinet town council and it's now used as an Art Museum and named in honour of Dr Rupert's mother.
State president Mr C.R. Swart opened the building on 26 July 1966. This art museum boasts over a hundred art works from leading South African artists, such as Maggie Laubser, Johannes Meintjies and Ernst de Jong. The artists donated these art pieces.